Results of the 2012 Annual Meeting

The Bar’s 2012 Annual Meeting featured elections, awards, and a lovely luncheon for more than 225 members and guests. New Executive Committee members include Vice President Jacqueline Grant, Secretary Annika Brock, and members Marion Groat, Pat Patton, and Jack Poisson. Re-elected for new terms were President Ingrid Friesen, President-Elect James Ellis, and Treasurer James Baley. Remaining on the Executive Committee to complete their three-year terms are: Douglas J. Tate, Immediate Past President, Michael Drye, Jason Peltz, Brad Stark, Eileen McMinn, Holly Stiles and Carol Goins.

Members elected Howard Gum for a third term as State Bar Councilor for the 28th Judicial District. After brief nominations and acceptance speeches by Mr. Gum and challenger Patsy Brison, members voted by secret ballot.

John Adams, Buncombe County Department of Social Service attorney, was this year’s winners of the Bar’s Professionalism Award. District Court Judge Patricia Young announced the award and noted that Mr. Adams strives for collegiality in his work.

John Mason of Roberts & Stevens won the NCBA Centennial Award for 2012. Joe McGuire announced the award and made reference to the many other awards Mr. Mason has garnered in his life. Both awards were kept secret from the winners until the announcement.