Nominations Invited for Centennial and Professionalism Awards

The Executive Committee invites your nomination of members of the Buncombe County Bar to receive the 2013 Centennial and Professionalism Awards.

The Centennial and Professionalism Awards are presented at our annual meeting, which this year is June 11, 2014. The deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, May 5th at noon.

The North Carolina Bar Association Centennial Award honors an individual member of each Judicial District for outstanding service which benefits our local community. Examples of such service include: elected and/or appointed service to local government; civic involvement on boards of community agencies; involvement in public service projects; and volunteer involvement with schools, churches, or other nonprofit organizations. The award is named in honor of the Bar Association’s Centennial (1899-1999).

The Buncombe County Bar Professionalism Award was established by President Roger Smith in 2004 to annually recognize an individual member of our Bar whose consistently courteous, respectful, and professional conduct toward the Court, attorneys, clients, and other parties exemplifies the highest standards of professionalism.

Nominations should be submitted to Lisa-Gaye Hall, Bar Administrator, at Please supply a statement about your nominee and why you recommend them for the award, and your contact information. We welcome letters of support. Thank you for helping the Executive Committee to honor deserving members with these significant awards. If you would like to submit a nomination, but you are unable to meet the deadline, please send an email with the name of your nominee by noon on Monday, May 5 and we will accept the statement at a later date.

Past recipients:

Centennial Award
2013 – Larry McDevitt
2012 – John Mason
2011 – Sheila Lambert
2010 – Judge Dennis Winner
2009 – Bob Deutsch
2008 – Jack Stevens
2007 – George Ward Hendon
2006 – Richard A. Wood
2005 – David Gantt
2004 – David Hillier
2003 – Roy Davis
2002 – Kerry Friedman
2001 – Lou Bissette

Professionalism Award
2013- Susan Strayhorn Barbour
2012-John Adams
2011-Scott Carter
2010-Howard McGlohon
2009-Judge Gary Cash
2008-Sara Davis
2007-Bill Anderson
2006-Bill Slawter
2005-Bill Parker