New Bar Leadership for 2015

Members of the Bar elected new leaders and named award winners at the June 10th Annual Meeting, with an overflow crowd in attendance.

Howard Gum was recognized for nine years of service as State Bar Councilor, and two members vied for his seat. Bill Christy was nominated by David Hillier from the floor, and Annika Brock introduced Anna Hamrick, who was nominated by the Nominating Committee. Members voted by secret ballot, and after all provisional votes were included, Anna Hamrick won the seat. The vote was Anna Hamrick 104, Bill Christy 76.

New members of the Executive Committee were elected by the members, as follows:
• President: Brad Stark
• President-Elect: Natalie Bacon
• Vice-President: Annika Brock
• Secretary: Dustin McIntee
• Treasurer: Bo Carpenter
• At-large members: Pat Patton, Johanna Finkelstein, Brian Elston

The Bar’s Centennial Award was given to Clifford “Kip” Marshall of Marshall, Roth & Gregory for his outstanding community service. The award was presented by PJ Roth. The Professionalism Award was given to Carleton Metcalf of Van Winkle Law Firm, and was presented by Phil Smith from Van Winkle.

Justice Harry Martin was named the first recipient of the Buncombe County Bar’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Justice Martin died on May 3, 2015, but he was notified by the Bar about the award before his death. The award was presented by James Kilbourne, and accepted on Justice Martin’s behalf by his daughter-in-law, Catherine Martin.

Click here for photos of the event.