Executive Committee Responsibilities

As I sit here among my fellow lawyers enjoying a warm evening with the boys of summer at McCormick Field, I am reminded that the backbone of the 28th Judicial District is its Committees. The seats at the Bar are never empty because of the largely unsung work of our members serving on committees.

As her first effort in June was thwarted by rain, President Annika Brock triumphantly ended her tenure by throwing out the first pitch at the Bar’s annual trip to the Asheville Tourists’ baseball game. It is only fitting to remember that Annika’s signature achievements during her term in increasing health and wellness for the legal community were achieved through the work of the Wellness Committee. Through other committees, like the Special Events Committee, the attorneys of Buncombe County maintain engagement with one another through dozens of events each year. At the same time, the Pro Bono Committee supports engagement of the Bar with the wider community through service. The work doesn’t stop there. The Communications Committee brings us this newsletter each week, while our CLE Committee gives the lawyers a chance to earn their required CLE in interesting topics without ever leaving town. Finally, it is the Finance Committee that keeps the financial affairs of the Bar in order. Without the members of these committees, our work would remain incomplete.

It is my privilege to name the members of our Bar who will be serving on our committees for the next year. Please feel free to reach out to them with your ideas.

Chair: Carter Webb
Members: James Kilbourne, Annika Brock, Anne Salter, Janet Amburgey, Sonya Rikhye
Responsibilities: Preparing budget and financial policies and making appropriate reports and recommendations on all things financial.

Chair: Zephyr Jost
Members: Sonya Rikhye, Kenny Hunt, Anne Salter
Responsibilities: Creating and facilitating 12 hours of low-cost CLE per year

Chair: Janet Amburgey
Members: Matt Roberson, Angie Dorsey
Responsibilities: Website, weekly e-news, and the bimonthly Bar Briefs

Special Events:
Chair: Johanna Finkelstein
Members: Yolanda Fair, Jessica Leaven
Responsibilities: Special (and social) events, including new member swearing in, retirement receptions, holiday party, memorials, picnics, etc.

Chair: Gill Webb
Members: Annika Brock, Carter Webb, Katie Fisher
Responsibilities: Provide support for attorney wellness & assist with pairing mentors & mentees

Pro Bono Committee:
Chair: John Noor
Members: Dale Curriden, Susan Dotson-Smith, Johanna Fowler, Bill Whalen, Anna Hamrick, Sheila Lambert, Matt Roberson, Meredith Gregory, Bo Carpenter, Nicki Applefield Engel, Todd Leaven

James W. Kilbourne, Jr.
President, Buncombe County Bar