Continuing Legal Education Seminars in 2019

Need CLE? We’re here to help!

January 17, 2019 — Creating a Litigation Advantage Through Proper Discovery
3 hours general credit for $75
Presenters: Katherine Langley, David Wilkerson & Mark Kurdys
Location: Van Winkle Law Firm, Market Street, Asheville
Sign up here.

January 25, 2019 — Family Law From the Trenches
4 hours general credit for $75
Presenters: Jim Siemens, Janet Amburgey, Jason Gast, Marion Parsons, Sara Player
Location: Van Winkle Law Firm, Market Street, Asheville
Sign up here.

February 13, 2019 — Stories of Renewal & Recovery
One hour of mental health/substance abuse credit for $25
Presenter: Brandon Shelton of Ogletree Deakins Law Firm in Charlotte
Location: Hilton Garden Inn, College Street, Asheville
Sign up here.

February 22, 2019 — Topics in Landlord-Tenant & Consumer Law
Three hours general credit for $75 or free for MAVL volunteers
Presenters: Parker Smith, Ben Many, Molly Maynard
Location: First Presbyterian Church, Church Street, Asheville
Sign up here.

February 22, 2019 — A Lawyer’s Guide to the NC State Bar
One hour ethics credit for $25
Presenter: State Bar Councilor Anna Hamrick
Location: First Presbyterian Church, Church Street, Asheville
Sign up here.


New Numbers for District Bars

From the North Carolina State Bar:

Please be reminded that effective January 1, 2019, all district bars other than Districts 1, 2, 10, and 26 have been renumbered. The table reflecting the changes can be found online here.

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 84-19, judicial district bars are coterminous with North Carolina’s prosecutorial districts. The new legislation eliminates all letters, except for High Point 24H, from the prosecutorial/district bar numbers. The superior court anddistrict court numbers have not been changed to match the new prosecutorial/judicial district numbers. Therefore, most districts will have a different superior and district court number than the prosecutorial/judicial district number.


Buncombe County Sheriff & Clerk Sworn In

Congratulations to our new Sheriff! On Monday, December 3, Quentin Miller was sworn into office by Chief District Court Judge Calvin Hill before a full house of supporters, friends, colleagues, and family. Sheriff Miller stated, “I look forward to working with the community. This is a community of we. We must all work together in order to move forward.”

In a private ceremony earlier in the day, Clerk of Superior Court Steve Cogburn was also sworn in by District Court Judge Ward Scott. Cogburn is beginning his third term of office, and said, “I’m happy that the good people in this office can continue to do the great work they do.”


Holiday Party & Toy Drive Sponsors

Thank you to all the generous sponsors of our annual Bar Holiday Party & Toy Drive!

Platinum Sponsor

Van Winkle Law Firm

Gold Sponsors

Dungan, Kilbourne & Stahl
Highland Title
Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company

Silver Sponsors
Daniels Law Firm
Deutsch & Gottschalk PA
Brian Elston Law Office
Grimes Teich Anderson LLP
Gum, Hillier & McCroskey
Long, Parker, Warren, Anderson & Payne PA
McGuire, Wood, Bissette Law Firm
Patla, Straus, Robinson & Moore PA
Roberts & Stevens
Stone & Christy PA
Tryon Title
Ward and Smith

Bronze Sponsors

Asheville Law Offices
Besen Law Office
Brock Law Firm
Campbell Shatley, PLLC
Steve Cogburn, Clerk of Superior Court
Eugene Ellison Attorney At Law
Fidelity National Title
Garlock & McKinney
Carol Goins Law Office
Henco Reprographics
Harold E. Kaplan, Esq., Arbitrator
Kight Law Office
Legal Aid of NC
Matney & Associates, PA
McAngus, Goudelock & Courie
Pitts, Hay & Hugenschmidt
Law Office of Philip Price
Siemens Family Law Group
Todd Williams, District Attorney
Worley & Peltz


At the event, we collect toys for Santa Pal and food for Manna Food Bank. (We will also accept cash or checks for these organizations.) Our party begins with cocktails and appetizers at 5:30 at Celine’s On Broadway, 49 Broadway in downtown Asheville, on Friday, December 14.

At 6:30pm, President James Kilbourne will offer holiday greetings and will convene a business meeting to vote on new bylaws. At 7pm, Russ Wilson’s Jazz Trio will perform. There will be an open bar and delicious hor d’oeuvres at buffet stations throughout the room all night.

Members and one guest may attend for free. (No children, please.) Please RSVP at this link.